An Overview of Motorcycle Laws in Colorado
All motorcyclists and other drivers are required to comply with standard traffic laws – like those regarding stopping at red lights and complying with speed limits. Additionally, however, there are some specific Colorado laws that riders must know and follow in order to avoid an infraction and ride safely and legally in the state.
What Riders Need to Know about Colorado Motorcycle Laws1
Here is an overview of Colorado motorcycle laws that riders should know & follow to ride safely and legally in CO. Contact our Denver motorcycle accident attorney for help if you have been hurt in a crash.[/caption]Riding laws – Motorcyclists are permitted to “co-ride” in Colorado, which means that they can ride alongside one other motorcyclist (only one) within the same lane of traffic. Riders are prohibited, however, from lane sharing or lane splitting with passenger vehicles, which involves trying to pass these vehicles within the same lane or by riding along the lane marker.
Riders are also prohibited from grabbing onto other motorcycles or vehicles while riding, which may be referred to as “clinging” or “towing.”
- Required protective gear – All riders and motorcycle passengers in Colorado are required by law to wear some form of eye protection, which can include the visor of a helmet, plastic safety glasses, eyeglasses made from safety glass and googles. Windshields of motorcycles are not considered to be eye protection. In terms of helmets, motorcycle riders and passengers who are younger than 18 years old are legally required to wear DOT-approved helmets. Riders and passengers who are 18 or over, however, are not required by law to wear safety helmets. It should be noted here that wearing a DOT-approved helmet can reduce riders’ risk of sustaining fatal head injuries by about 40 percent.2
- Passenger laws – If a motorcyclist is carrying a passenger, that passenger must be seated either behind the rider (on the seat) or in a sidecar. It is illegal for passengers to be seated in front of riders. Additionally, motorcycles carrying passengers must be equipped with footrests, and passengers are legally required to use these footrests when riding (as long as they are not in a sidecar).
- Other laws – Other noteworthy Colorado motorcycle laws that riders should be aware of are as follows (but are not limited to the following):
- There are not handlebar height restrictions for motorcycles or prohibitions against helmet speakers in Colorado.
- Motorcycles are required to have a left and right mirror, as well as a muffler.
- The state insurance requirements for riders minimum liability coverage is $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries and $15,000 per accident for property damage.
Contact a Denver Motorcycle Accident Attorney at the Law Office of James H. Guest, LLC
If you or a loved one has been injured in a motorcycle accident, or if you have lost a loved one in a fatal crash, contact a Denver motorcycle accident attorney at the Law Office of James H. Guest, LLC to find out more about your options for financial recovery.
Contact us by calling (303) 292-2992 or by emailing us via the contact form on this page. We offer free initial consultations, and there is no fee for our services if there is no recovery in your case.
From our offices located in Denver, our attorneys provide superior personal injury representation to clients in Lakewood, Denver, Littleton, Arvada, Evergreen, Golden, Highlands Ranch, Westminster, Brighton, Thornton, Broomfield, Boulder, Parker, Englewood, Wheat Ridge, Colorado Springs, Fort Collins, Vail, Conifer, Castle Rock, Denver County, Adams County, Jefferson County, Douglas County, Arapahoe County, Boulder County, Broomfield County, El Paso County, Larimer County, Weld County, Eagle County, Summit County and throughout Colorado.
1: According to the Colorado Department of Transportation
2: According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)